I have noticed after deleting an original page in WordPress with lets say a permalink of
your_domain.com/contact/ and then trying to recreate the same page with the same name/slug, my WP is generating a “-2” at the end of the link, like:
I don’t understand why, since the original page was deleted. Why is WordPress treating new pages as if the original still exists? How to I clean WP caches, if such a thing even exists?
Thank you ahead of time for clearing this up for me.
Delete the page permanently from the Trash.
As long as it lives in the Trash, the post exists with status